Four nominated for Constitutional Council

Published : 8:00 am  May 25, 2015 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 


Four members have been nominated to the Constitutional Council to date.

They are Minister Champika Ranawaka as the president’s nominee,   Tamil National Alliance leader R Sampanthan  as the nominee of the minority parties, Minister Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe as the prime minister’s nominee and MP John Seneviratne as the  nominee of the leader of the opposition.

In addition, former auditor general  S.P. Mayadunne and former deputy  general secretary of United Nations  Radhika Kumaraswamy have also been proposed as two of the three members to be nominated by the prime minister and the leader of the opposition from among the civil society activists. After the remaining members are nominated, the constitutional council is due to be appointed by the President during the week.

The prime minister and the leader of the opposition will also be ex-officio members of the CC.