No-faith motion against Ranil on June 9: Aluthgamage

Published : 7:40 am  May 29, 2015 | No comments so far |  |  (380) reads | 



By Ajith Siriwardana
UPFA parliamentarian Mahindananda Aluthgamage said yesterday the no-confidence motion signed by 85 MPs against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe would be handed over to the Speaker on June 9.

He said about 130 MPs were expected to sign this motion before tabling it in Parliament.
Mr. Aluthgamage said this government did not have the moral right to hold office any longer and that the opposition had supported it only until the completion of the 100-day programme.


"He said about 130 MPs were expected to sign this motion before tabling it in Parliament"

He said the government had failed to fulfil its promises even 50 days after the 100-day programme.

“This government has failed to provide relief to the people as promised or introduce any political reforms and prove the charges of fraud and corruption as claimed before the election. It has not provided Samurdhi relief for the past two months and all development programmes have come to a standstill,” Mr. Aluthgamage alleged adding that they would launch countrywide protest campaigns to send this government home.

Mr. Aluthgamage said the government was only hounding its rivals despite the promised Maithri governance and they requested President Maithripala Sirisena to stop this vindictive governance.

Mr. Aluthgamage said more than 75 parliamentarians had assured their participation at the rally to be held in Matara in support of former President Mahinda Rajapaksa’s candidacy at the next general election. He challenged the government and the Prime Minister to meet the President and seek an election if they really wanted an election without speaking about it in the media.

Mr. Aluthgamage said the UNP was scared to face an election at this juncture and said that was why Ranil Wickremesinghe was planning to set up a national government after the election.

“We are not in agreement with the UNP to set up a national government. We are confident of winning the next general election with 113 seats with President Maithripala Sirisena and former president Mahinda Rajapaksa on the same stage. So why set up a national government with the UNP,” he asked.