Naming of three CC members deferred

Published : 8:16 am  June 11, 2015 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 

By Kelum Bandara and Yohan Perera

The government yesterday deferred the motion for the appointment of three civil society members to the proposed Constitutional Council until the political parties signed an agreement on the methodology to be followed in making such nominations in the future.

 Prime Minister Ranil WickrLate-City-Dm-1-1emesinghe moved the motion for the appointment of A.T. Ariyaratne, Abdul Wahid Abdul Salam and Dr. Radhika Coomaraswamy as the civil society representatives of the Constitutional Council. However, the opposition parties including Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) said the party leaders agreed at the meeting the previous day to work out a criterion to be followed in the future regarding the nomination of civil society members.

Mahajana Eksath Peramuna (MEP) Leader Dinesh Gunawardane said an agreement was to be signed, and the motion should be deferred.

Also, JVP Leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake said such an agreement should be signed as resolved at the previous party leaders’ meeting.

The Prime Minister agreed to look into these matters and get back. He said he would discuss it at the Cabinet meeting and get back to the party leaders. Accordingly, the motion was deferred.