Good Governance MoU signed

Published : 8:19 am  July 13, 2015 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 


By Yohan Perera
The United National Party (UNP), the Jathika Hela Urumaya (JHU), a section of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) and  the Tamil Progressive Alliance (TPA) yesterday sealed an agreement to contest the general election under the ‘elephant symbol’ and to form the United National Front for Good Governance (UNFGG).  

UNP National Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe, JHU General Secretary and Minister Patali Champika Ranawaka, Minister Rajitha Senaratne of the SLFP, SLMC Leader and Minister Rauff Hakeem and TPA Leader Mano Ganesan signed the agreement.


They said they decided to contest under the ‘elephant symbol’ because of the lack of time to register the UNFGG. The party leaders said it would be registered under a new symbol and the parties would function as separate entities in parliament after the election.
Mr. Wickremesinghe said the leaders of the political parties which backed President Maithripala Sirisena were initially planning to contest the general election on their own but had changed their strategy in keeping with the latest political developments. He said the parties would function separately in parliament. Minister Patali Champika Ranawaka said the UNFGG’s main objective was to prevent the country from returning to that dark era.

He said UNFGG if elected to office would strive to provide constitutional provisions to prevent fraud and corruption.

 The minister said the JHU had played a pivotal role in the formation of the UNFGG and suggested the name change to the Front for Good Governance.  Minister Rajitha Senaratne said no sooner UNFGG assumes office, it would introduce the long awaited changes to the electoral system through the 20th Amendment.

Minister Hakeem said whatever other differences among the parties could be resolved during the course of the campaign.

Ministers Arjuna Ranatunga (Gampaha), Dr. Senaratne (Kalutara) and Mr. Ranawaka (Colombo) singed their nomination forms soon after the signing of the MoU. Meanwhile, Ven Athureliye Rathana Thera and Minister Sarath Amunugama are expected to enter parliament on the national list.