No nominations for Duminda, Mervyn, Sajin: UPFA

Published : 8:33 am  July 14, 2015 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 

Susil hospitalized and discharged


 UPFA Secretary Susil Premajayantha, flanked by Mr. Weerawansa and Dinesh Gunawardane after handing over the nomination lists. Pic by Pradeep Dilruksana


By Darshana Sanjeewa and Lahiru PothmullaDM_20150714_A001-8
UPFA General Secretary Susil Premajayantha yesterday announced that the party had refused nominations to former UPFA MPs Duminda Silva, Mervyn Silva, Sajin Vass Gunawardane and Sarana Gunawardane.

He said they had finalsied the UPFA national list which includes many intellectuals and professionals.

Mr. Premajayantha is contesting the election under the betel leaf symbol from the Colombo district. He was a key figure in preparing party nominations and was hospitalized on Sunday evening and discharged on Monday morning. “These things happen because of stress. I’m fine now,” he said.  Meanwhile, National Freedom Front (NFF) Leader and UPFA Colombo candidate Wimal Weerawansa said they had launched the campaign to make former President Mahinda Rajapaksa the next prime minister. “A new era will take place in country on August 18,” he said.