RW-MR in premiership battle

Published : 9:29 am  July 14, 2015 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 


The nominations for the August 17 general election ended yesterday with some of the aspirants left out for one reason or the other from the nomination lists of the two main parties.

Three UPFA members of the Western Provincial Council were not accommodated in the Gampaha District because of protests by former MPs Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Sudarshani Fernandopulle and Felix Perera. Among those refused nomination were Samanmali Sakalasuriya and Sahan Pradeep who had campaigned for Mahinda Rajapaksa’s nomination on the UPFA list.

Dejected by this exclusion, Gampaha district UPFA team leader Prasanna Ranatunga remarked that the party had to drop some deserving members because of protests by party seniors.

He appealed to UPFA voters to reject those who did not participate in the ‘Bring Back Mahinda Campaign’ indicating the presence of some infighting within the UPFA between loyalists of President Maithripala Sirisena and those of Mr. Rajapaksa.  It appears that a strategy is in place to outsmart the president’s loyalists in the contest for preferential votes.