Two new CMs for WP and NWP

Published : 8:15 am  September 9, 2015 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 


 (From Left)  Governor K. C. Logeswaran, Chief Minister Isura Devapriya, President Maithripala Sirisena, Chief Minister Dharmasiri Dassanayake and Governor Amara Piyasili Ratnayake


United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) provincial councillor Isura Devapriya was yesterday appointed as the Chief Minister of the Western Province while UPFA provincial councillor Dharmasiri Dassanayake was appointed Chief Minister of North-Weastern Province.

Western Province Governor K. C. Logeswaran and North Western Province Governor Amara Piyaseeli Ratnayake endorsed the appointments in the presence of President Maithripala Sirisena.

The chief ministerial posts of the Western, North-Western and Uva Provinces fell vacant after the previous chief ministers were elected to parliament at the August 17 election.

 The new chief minister for the Uva Province is yet to be appointed.