12th Raigam Tele’es Entries close on Feb. 28

Published : 9:00 am  January 25, 2016 | No comments so far |  |  (674) reads | 


Entries for television creations eligible for evaluation for awards at the upcoming 12th Raigam Tele’es will be accepted at the Raigam Tele’es Secretariat in Colombo on or before February 28 this year. During a media conference held recently in this regard, it was announced that local tele dramas and other creations that had been completely telecast in 2015 would be eligible for awards this year.

Any production telecast over cable TV or any other paid channel or dubbed productions will not qualify for assessment. Kingdom of Raigam Chairman Dr. Ravi Liyanage, Deputy Chairman Kishan Theodore, Sampath Bank DGM Marketing and Business Development Tharaka Ranwala, Raigam Managing Director Ganaka Amarasinghe and Judge panel Chairman Prof. Patrick Rathnayake addressed the media to outline details about the upcoming event on June 3 at the Nelum Pokuna Performing Arts Theatre.

Addressing the news briefing in Colombo on the upcoming event, Raigam Chairman Dr. Ravi Liyanage said he was glad the award festival started 12 years ago was one of the most looked-forward-to events in the television industry today. “Key awards are given in the Sinhala, Tamil and English categories. We will continue to contribute towards social harmony and make everyone happy,” said Dr. Liyanage expressing his gratitude to the main sponsor Sampath Bank and the Nominations evening sponsor Dialog. News readers and programme presenters may send their applications through the respective TV channel or independently to the Raigam Tele’es Secretariat, 23 Walukarama Road, Colombo 3. Twelve years ago the Raigam Tele-awards Ceremony started as an awards ceremony for the tele-drama industry and went on to become their crowning event each year.

With the idea of bringing the awards ceremony up to the standard of GRAMMY Awards or FILMFARE, it re-branded the awards ceremony as Raigam Tele’es covering all sectors of the Television Industry including tele dramas, Sports, Children’s programmes, Political, News, Documentary, Reality and even the Technical Sectors. This year’s panel of judges headed by veteran Prof. Patrick Rathnayake, will include Prof. Ajantha Hapuarachchi, Gunasiri Silva, Jayantha Rukmanee Siriwardene, Hansamala Ritigahapola, Dr. D. M. R. B. Dissanayake while Prof. S.J.Yogarajah will serve as special advisor in the Tamil section.