Published : 8:52 am  August 19, 2016 | No comments so far |  |  (773) reads | 

Untitled-4Eighteen-yearold Avishka Fernando and leg-spinner Amila Aponso have been included in the Sri Lanka 16-man Squad for the five-match ODI series against Australia starting on Sunday in Colombo. Avishka comes into the side on the back of some impressive performances in England where he scored back-to-back centuries against England Under-19 to lead Sri Lanka Under-19 to a 3-0 whitewash. Amila had a strong run with the Sri Lanka Development Squad in South Africa.

Both cricketers are from St. Sebastian’s College, Moratuwa. Veteran opener T. M. Dilshan has also been recalled to play what will probably be his last ODI series for Sri Lanka. Also included are spinning all-rounder Milinda Siriwardana and fast-bowling all-rounder Thisara Perera who missed out the ODI series in England. Angelo Mathews will captain the squad.

Suranga Lakmal and Nuwan Pradeep will spearhead the fastbowling attack while the spin attack consists of Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan and Seekkuge Prasanna. Dhananjaya de Silva who had a stellar run with the bat during the Test series has also been included as a batting all-rounder. The Squad: Angelo Mathews (Captain), Thilakaratne Dilshan, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Milinda Siriwardana, Seekkuge Prasanna, Dilruwan Perera, Nuwan Pradeep, Lakshan Sandakan, Avishka Fernando, Amila Aponso and Thisara Perera.