Published : 8:11 am  October 4, 2016 | No comments so far |  |  (625) reads | 


First unofficial Test starts today

The West Indies ‘A’ cricket team has arrived in the island for a short tour against Sri Lanka ‘A’ and will play three unofficial Test matches and the same number of limited over games this month. The two teams will clash in the first four-day unofficial Test match from today at R. Premadasa Stadium. The series is no doubt going to be crucial for both the sides as both their senior team are due to tour Zimbabwe next month. The Sri Lanka national team will be playing two Test matches there which will be followed by a Tri- Nation limited over series with West Indies being the third team. For the Sri Lanka ‘A’ side, spearheaded by Dimuth Karunaratne, it’s going to be crucial as this will give an opportunity for Lahiru Thirimanne,

who has not played any international matches since June, to prove his credentials to get back to the national side, and also skipper Karunaratne who had a poor series against Australia last month to fine tune his batting. The Sri Lanka ‘A’ team comprises a mixture of experience and youth who are knocking on the door of the national team and this will also be of benefit for the youngsters. Included in the Sri Lanka ‘A’ side are Kusal Perera who is the vice captain, Asela Gunaratne and Niroshan Dickwella. Niroshan Dickwella, Avishka Fernando, Charith Asalanka, the Sri Lanka U19 captain, and Roshen Silva are no doubt going to strengthen the home team’s batting while they have bowlers in the likes of Lahiru Kumara, Lakshan Sandakan, Vimukthi Perera and Asitha Fernando. The West Indies side will be led by Shamarh Brooks who led the West Indies U19 side at the World Cup in Malaysia in 2008. Brooks was optimistic and confident saying they had come well prepared and that it’s going to be a good experience for the team. The two teams played in a three-match series in both formats two years ago with the host winning both of them with a ten-wicket win in the first unofficial Test match played at Hambantota and the other two matches ending in draws. The three-match limited over series saw the host winning the first match by six wickets played at the Dambulla, while the second match ended in a no-decision and the third played at SSC being abandoned.