NFF withdraws from constitutional assembly

Published : 8:55 am  July 20, 2017 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 

National Freedom Front (NFF) leader and MP Wimal Weerawansa has handed over a letter to Speaker Karu Jayasuriya saying that its five members were withdrawing from the Constitutional Assembly.   


The letter was signed by MPs Weerawansa, Weerakumara Dissanayake, Jayantha Smaraweera, Udayashantha Gunasekara and Niroshan Premarathna who cited ten reasons for the decision.

They said they were doing so in keeping with the views expressed by the Mahanayake Theras that the country did not need a new constitution and questioned the legality of the process claiming that the people were neither informed of the constitutional assembly’s decisions nor were they a part of it.

They said the government and the President did not have the mandate to form such an assembly nor did the JO have a mandate to be a part of it.  

Discussions of the six sub committees appointed by the assembly not being revealed to the media and the opposition not being allowed to express its views during these meetings, in addition to the lack of faith that the process would result in a constitution acceptable to all parties were other reasons cited by the group.