Injured Mathews out of opening TestSadeera Samarawickrama

Published : 9:25 am  September 21, 2017 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 

Sri Lanka vs Pakistan Test Series

Uncapped Samarawickrama named in the squad




Former Captain Angelo Mathews was yesterday ruled out of the First Test against Pakistan as Sri Lanka named its 15-member squad for the two-Test series which begins in Abu Dhabi, UAE next week. 

Mathews was diagnosed with a calf-injury, and his absence has meant that middle-order batsman Roshen Silva was once again called up to the squad. 

Another uncapped player, Sadeera Samarawickrama was also named in the squad while opener Kaushal Silva returns following Upul Tharanga’s decision to take a six-month break from the longer format of the game. 

Kaushal Silva was dropped following the tour of South Africa, where Sri Lanka were resoundingly beaten in the Test and ODI series, and will likely partner Dimuth Karunaratne at the top of the batting order. 

Mathews has missed a significant amount of Sri Lanka’s matches during the last year suffering injuries during the Australian tour last HGFyear, and during that South African tour that concluded in January. 

Mathews missed the Twenty20I series in South Africa and Australia and the Bangladesh tour early this year, before returning for the second game in the ICC Champions Trophy in June. 

He featured in the home tours against Zimbabwe and India, where Sri Lanka lost all but one series to both opponents, including an unprecedented 9-0 whitewash across all three formats against the Indians. 

Lahiru Thirmanne also returns to the squad and despite having last played an international match in this format in June 2016, has been named as the Vice-Captain of the team. 

With the inclusion of Samarawickrama and Roshen Silva, middle-order batsman Dhananjaya de Silva once again misses out despite having been the team’s top scorer in 2016, particularly impressing during the 3-0 whitewash of Australia. 

Lahiru Gamage, yet to feature in a Test, is one of four fast bowlers in the touring party. 

Among five players kept on standby includes fast-bowler Lahiru Kumara and three players yet to be capped in the longer form – Akila Dhananjaya, Dasun Shanaka and Jeffery Vandersay. 




Sri Lanka Test Squad

Dinesh Chandimal (Captain), Lahiru Thirimanne (Vice-Captain), Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Rangana Herath, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Vishwa Fernando and Lahiru Gamage.

Stand byes

Dhananjaya de Silva, Jeffery Vandersay, Akila Dhananjaya, Lahiru Kumara and Dasun Shanaka.