Lankans eye historic series win

Published : 9:16 am  October 6, 2017 | No comments so far |  |  (261) reads | 

Second Test in Dubai

LATE-CITY-DM-1-16Pakistan and Sri Lanka once again square-off in the Second and Final Test at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium beginning today (6). 

In what will the sixth day-night Test in the history of international cricket, it will be the first time that the Lankans play a pink ball Test. 
While Sri Lanka will be upbeat after winning the First Test by 21 runs, Pakistan, on the other hand, will look to strike back with full throttle. 

However, if the Lankans do manage to win the next match they will be able to secure a win in the UAE for the first time.

The visitors will hope that after scalping his 400th Test victim, Rangana Herath will keep the pressure on the Pakistan batsman. 

He will be ably supported by Suranga Lakmal, and Dilruwan Perera. Among the batsmen Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunaratne and Niroshan Dickwella were the stand-out performers in the first Test and the onus will be on them to help Sri Lanka post a big total and gain the upper hand once again.


However, if the Lankans do manage to win the next match they will be able to secure a win in the UAE for the first time

LATE-CITY-DM-1-16For Pakistan, one area of concern will be the performance by their middle order batsman which was once again exposed in the fourth innings of the match. 

Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, and Azhar Ali need to step up if Pakistan has to win the match. 

Among the bowlers, Mohammad Amir failed to pick up a single wicket and hence he will be looking to open his account in the series.

The average first innings score at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium is 298 while the average second innings rises to 333. Hence, the pitch and conditions will be more or less batting friendly. Whichever team fares well in the first innings will hold the advantage.







Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (Capt), Azhar Ali, Shan Masood, Sami Aslam, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Usman Salahuddin, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Asghar, Bilal Asif, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Abbas, Wahab Riaz   

Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (Capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Rangana Herath, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Vishwa Fernando, Lahiru Gamage