Sadeepa steals the limelight

Published : 9:53 am  October 12, 2017 | No comments so far |  |  (388) reads | 

All-Island School Games




By Susil Premalal 

Promising athlete Sadeepa Henderson of Gateway College Rajagiriya stole the limelight on the opening day of the 33rd All-Island School Games Athletics Championships which began at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Sports Complex in Diyagama yesterday.

Sadeepa produced an outstanding performance to win the Gold Medal in the Under-16 Girls’ long jump final with an effort of 5.66 metres.   

This was easily an improved performance from her previous effort of 5.32m which was achieved at the John Tarbet Junior Championships in 2016.

Meanwhile, Pehesara Thenuja of Vijatha MMV Dickwella had the satisfaction of winning the first Gold Medal at this meet. 
Thenuja produced a pleasing performance to bag the Under-12 Boys’ High Jump event with an effort of 1.41m.

Four finals were postponed due to bad weather and these events would be worked off today (12).   



This year’s meet is conducted under five new age group categories and earlier records will not be considered for recognition. 
Results (finals):

High Jump U-12 Boys’:

1. Pehesara Thenuja (Vijatha MMV Dickwella), 1.41m
2. Nipuna Manodya (Maliyadeva Girls’ College Kurunegala), 1.37m
3. Akitha Prasath Wijesiri (Ganegoda Rajasinghe MV) 1.37m

Long Jump U-12 Girls’:

1. Shihara Sandamini (Good Shepherd Convent Panadura) 4.55m
2. M. A. M. G. Ranasinghe, (Ave Maria Convent Negambo) 4.53m
3. H. A. W. A. Dahamdi (President’s College) 4.27m

Triple Jump U-18 Girls’:

1. Sathsara Sandeepani (President’s Collage) 12.01m
2. G. R. S. P. Karunanayaka (Dippitiya Rajagiri MV) 11.81m
3. Prasadi Lakshani (Holy Cross College Gampaha) 11.40m

High Jump U-20 Girls’: 

1. Poornima Jayamali Gunarathna (Leeds International School–Panadura) 1.68m
2. Randi Himasha Cooray (Gateway International School Rajagiriya) 1.56m
3. Shenali Weerapperuma (St. Lawrence’s BMV Colombo) 1.56m

Javelin Throw U-18 Boys’:

1. V. S. Rajapaksa (A. Rathnayake MMV Walala) 56.20m
2. W. S. A. Fonseka (St. Joseph Vaz College – Wennappuwa) 54.37m
3. Charuka Rukshan (St. Mary’s College – Chilaw) 53.89m

Long Jump U-16 Girls’:

1. Sadeepa Henderson (Gateway College Rajagiriya) 5.66m
2. Sadini Kaveesha (Vijitha MMV Dickwella) 5.44m
3. Bhagya Nilmini (Viharagala MV Sooriyawewa) 5.36m