SL keen to bounce back in Second T20I

Published : 9:22 am  December 22, 2017 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 



By Yohan Bhasura reporting from India 

A determined Sri Lankan Team will be hoping to bounce back when they take on the high riding Indian Team in the second Twenty20 International at the Holkar Stadium in Indore today (22).   

India of course will be looking to seal the T20I series following their emphatic 93-run victory in the opening match of the series played on Wednesday in Cuttack.   

Even then, Sri Lanka will need to really come out with an improved performance if they are to stretch their formidable opponents.    

LATE-CITY-DM-28-2In the first match they had the Indian’s at 119 for three at the end of the 16th over. But with dew settling in, the bowlers found it tough to grip the ball and they ended up bowling five full-tosses in the last two overs, each of which was carted away to the boundary. 

As a result, the young Sri Lankan bowlers will do well to take a cue from the Indian spinners who made an effort to keep the ball dry at all times. The biggest concern for Sri Lanka has been their poor batting performances throughout this series where they have struggled to read Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav. 

Sri Lanka will need the likes of Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews and Skipper Thisara Perera to infuse life into the setup which the likes of Niroshan Dickwella and Kusal Perera can build on.

No doubt, with just a day’s rest between the matches, it will be a tough task for the Sri Lankans to pick themselves up after such a heavy defeat in the opening Twenty20I.

The Holkar Stadium has been a happy hunting ground for the Indians who have won all five ODIs and the solitary Test match played at the venue to date. 

In addition, the pitch has usually been a batting paradise, and it should look no different when the two teams clash for the first T20I to be played at this venue. 

The dew is again expected to play a prominent part owing to the evening start.




Teams (from)

India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, M. S. Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Basil Thampi and Jaydev Unadkat.

Sri Lanka: Thisara Perera (Captain), Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Asela Gunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Chaturanga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Pradeep and Vishwa Fernando.