CH face reality check

Published : 9:00 am  January 12, 2018 | No comments so far |  |  (276) reads | 

Saranga, Ariyaratne, Ranatunga all out of Air Force clash


By Harsha Amarasinghe

CH and FC have relied heavily on their starting XV for most of the season and the forwards in particular have been hugely influential in their success so far, but the Maitland Crescent Club face a reality check when they face Air Force Sports Club without four of their first team members in the Dialog Inter-Club League Rugby Tournament match at Race Course today. 

Giant second row Sajith Saranga who has been in the form of his life in the recent weeks, is set to be sidelined with an ankle injury while flanker Sasanka Ariyarathne will also be out of the Air Force game with a knee injury.

Prop Sathya Rantunga who was unavailable for their game against Havelock Sports Club last week is yet to recover from a knee injury which will see Alexander Rahul remain in the front row while second row Matheesha Sarathchandra has returned to the first XV after serving a one game ban while Srinath Wimalaweera has also secured the place in the CH pack.

Centre Ryan Weerakoon who was stretched off last week following a head injury will not be available for today’s game, but the CH management is certain that the former Trinity back division player could be fit for next week.

Full-back Avantha Lee who has had a stunning start to his inter-club career will also miss the Air Force game due to an illness which will bring in Ruwan Kumara to wing three quarter pushing Dinushan Ariyapala to full-back position.

Air Force have also been struggling with injuries with Charith Senevirathne being ruled out of the game with a knee injury while full-back Rumesh Ramdas and hooker Pandula Bandara are expected to play with pain.

Senevirathne has been replaced by Pabasara Hewage while kicking responsibilities will be taken up by fly-half Gayantha Iddamalgoda.


CH and FC: 

Henry Terence, Pulasthi Bandara, Alexander Rahul, Matheesha Sarathchandra, Pradeep Kurukulasooriya, Srinath Wimalawera, Yoshitha Rajapaksa, Rohitha Rajapaksa, Avishka Lee and Samuel Maduwantha, Anurada Herath, Chula Susantha, Lee Keegel, Ruwan Kumara, Dinushan Ariyapala

Air Force: 

Ranuka Medegedara, Pandula Bandara, Amal Dassanayke, Nilantha Jayaweera, S. Madushan, Gimhana Silva, Radeesha Senevirathne, Saraka Warella, Isuru Jayaratne and Gayantha Iddamalgoda, Anjana Vinodh, Sooriya Krishan, Pabasara Hewage, Amila Bandara, Rumesh Ramdas