ICC Women’s Championship Bismah, Sana seal series win for Pakistan

Published : 9:10 am  March 23, 2018 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 

Untitled-2Captain Bismah Maroof’s 89 and Sana Mir’s four wickets for 20 helped Pakistan Women to a 94-run victory over Sri Lanka Women in the ICC Women’s World Championship second one-day international of the three-match series worked off in Dambulla yesterday.

The victory gave Pakistan an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series, after they had won the first ODI by 69 runs on Tuesday.

Opting to bat, Pakistan put up a competitive total of 250 for six wickets, Maroof being aided by contributions from Nida Dar (38) and Nahida Khan (29). 

Mir contributed with the bat as well, her 25-ball 27 towards the end of the innings comprising three fours.

In reply, Sri Lanka kept losing wickets and were bowled out for 156 in 37 overs. Sripali Weerakkody top scored with 29, while Chamari Atapattu and Chamari Polgampola both scored 24 each. 

Ama Kanchana also got a start, with a 24-ball 23, but none of the batters managed to make them count, Pakistan nipping them out just as they got going.

Mir’s four-wicket haul was a driving factor behind Pakistan’s victory. The right-arm off-spinner dismantled Sri Lanka’s top order, getting the wickets of Dilani Manodara (5), Shashikala Siriwardene (0), Rebeca van Dort (10) and Hasini Perera (11).

A 34-run partnership between Kanchana and Polgampola helped Sri Lanka cross the 100-run mark, but they couldn’t pose a challenge big enough to get near the Pakistan total.
Weerakkody and Sugandika Kumari added 50 runs for the final wicket, but it was too little too late. 

Earlier, a 91-run partnership for the fourth wicket between Dar and Maroof lifted Pakistan from 98 for four to 189 for five and revived the innings after Sri Lanka had made early inroads.

Pakistan Women: 250/6 in 50 overs (Muneeba Ali 31, Nida Dar 38, Nahida Khan 29, Bismah Maroof 89, Sana Mir 27, Sripali Weerakkody 2/46)

Sri Lanka Women: 156 in 37 overs (Sripali Weerakkody 29, Chamari Atapattu 24, Chamari Polgampola 24, Ama Kanchana 23, Sana Mir 4/20, Nida Dar 2/27). ICC