PM wins no-faith-motion vote

Published : 9:16 am  April 5, 2018 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 
  • 122  Against 
  • 76 In favour
  • 26 absent

Absentees include 23 SLFP Ministers and Deputy Ministers , 2 cwc members and Ven. Ratana thera 

16 SLFP  Ministers  and Deputy Ministers vote for the motion

image_1522853499-f015e959a7By Yohan Perera and Ajith Siriwardena 
Prime Minster Ranil Wickremesinghe survived the no confidence motion yesterday despite even a section of Ministers representing the UPFA going against him.


However there were 26 absentees. The absent members included 23 SLFP members, 2 CWC members and Ven. Athuraliye Ratana thera. 

Those who were absent; Sarath Amunugama, Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Faizer Musthapha, Nimal Siripala De Silva, Wijithamuni de Soyza, Piyasena Gamage, Sriyani Wijewickrama, A H M Fowze, Weerakumara Dissanayake, Lakshman Seneviratne, Sarathi Dushmantha, M L A M Hisbullah, Malik Jayatileke, Muttu Sivalingam , Mahinda Amaraweera, Mahinda Samarasinghe and Arumugam Thondaman  

Two MPs who signed the motion namely Nishantha Muthuhettigama and Kadar Mastan were among the absentees.  

However, the motion saw the fissures within the government widened as a section of the Ministers representing the SLFP voted against the Prime Minister number 16. 

Those in the government who voted in favour were Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, 

S.B. Dissanayake, Lakshman Wasantha Perera, Chandima Weerakkody, Dilan Perera, Susil Premajayantha, Sumedha Jayasena, Susantha Punchinilame, Thilanga Sumathipala, Sudarshani Fernandopulle, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, Dayasiri Jayasekera, W.D.J. Seneviratne, Anuradha Jayaratne, T.B. Ekanayake and Tharanath Basnayake.  

The Tamil National Alliance(TNA) voted against the motion in support of the Prime Minister while the JVP voted for the motion.

The motion, moved by the Joint Opposition, received only 76 votes in favour while there were 122 votes against. Accordingly, the government could defeat the motion comfortably with a majority of 46 seats.  




Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe hosted a tea party ahead of the no-confidence motion vote at the Parliemtary complex yesterday evening. Pix courtesy PM Media