Uncapped Prabath Jayasuriya named in Sri lanka ODI Squad

Published : 9:00 am  July 25, 2018 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 

CITY-MB_1-3Uncapped left-arm spinner Prabath Jayasuriya yesterday found a place in Sri Lanka’s 15-member Squad for the five-match ODI series against South Africa with Angelo Mathews returning as Captain. 

Jayasuriya had a productive domestic season, finishing as the fifth highest wicket-taker in both the Premier Tier ‘A’ and Super Provincial 4-day Tournaments with some success during the recent Sri Lanka ‘A’ tour of Bangladesh taking eight wickets in three innings. 

Mathews, who was re-appointed as limited over captain in January, missed much of Sri Lanka’s international assignments this year, first through injury – which ruled him out of Test and T20I series in Bangladesh and then the Nidahas Trophy – and then personal reasons that saw him skip two of the three Tests in the West Indies. 

Having now made it through the two-Test series against South Africa unscathed, Mathews will resume his leadership role of the ODI Team.  

Meanwhile, Kasun Rajitha and all-rounders Shehan Jayasuriya and Dasun Shanaka have been recalled to the squad, having not been part of Sri Lanka’s last ODI assignment, a triangular series in Bangladesh. 
Rajitha is yet to play in an ODI, but impressed during the drawn Test series in the West Indies. 

Missing out from that tour party are fast bowlers Dushmantha Chameera, Shehan Madushanka and Nuwan Pradeep while opener Danushka Gunathilaka has been omitted following his indefinite suspension for a breach of contract during the third Test against South Africa. 

The first of the five ODIs begins on Sunday in Dambulla. 

Sri Lanka Squad: Angelo Mathews (Captain), Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Upul Tharanga, Kusal Mendis, Thisara Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha, Akila Dananjaya, Prabath Jayasuriya, Lakshan Sandakan and Shehan Jayasuriya. 

Standbys: Dimuth Karunaratne, Isuru Udana, Nishan Peiris and Jeffrey Vandersay.