Chandimal returns to T20I Squad

Published : 8:22 am  August 9, 2018 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 

Untitled-2Dinesh Chandimal is in line for a return to international cricket following his six-match suspension, after being included in Sri Lanka’s squad for the one-off T20 international against South Africa next Tuesday (14).

Chandimal was issued eight suspension points, equivalent to two Tests and four ODIs, by the International Cricket Council last month on charges of bringing the game into disrepute for his involvement in an incident that led to a two-hour delay during the second Test against West Indies in St Lucia.

The 15-member squad also features a revamped fast-bowling attack consisting of Binura Fernando, Lahiru Kumara and Shehan Madushanka, none of whom played in Sri Lanka’s last T20 assignment, the Nidahas Trophy in March. 
All-rounder Shehan Jayasuriya also earned a call-up, but with Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera and Dasun Shanaka also in the squad, it is unlikely that he would feature in the final eleven, while leg spinners Jeffrey Vandersay and Lakshan Sandakan along with Akila Dananjaya make up the spin bowling unit.

Squad: Angelo Mathews – Captain, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Janith Perera, Dhananjaya De Silva, Upul Tharanga, Kusal Mendis, Thisara Perera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Shehan Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara, Dinesh Chandimal, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lakshan Sandakan, Binura Fernando

Standbys: Dimuth Karunaratne, Isuru Udana, Niroshan Dickwella, Kasun Rajitha.