CC looking for new nominees

Published : 12:02 am  September 8, 2018 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 
  • The current members can’t be re-nominated


 By Kelum Bandara

The Constitutional Council is expected to call for fresh nominees for seven reserved slots of it on the basis that the stipulated term of office of the current members will expire soon. 


  The CC comprises ten members with the Prime Minister, the Opposition Leader and the Speaker being ex-officio members while the other seven members are nominated for a stipulated period.  

The seven others currently holding office are Ministers Patali Champika Ranawaka and Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe, JVP MP Vijitha Herath, Opposition MP John Seneviratne and three civil society members.   

According to the Constitution, they cannot be re-nominated at the end of their tenure.