Speaker did not accept MR as new PM: Ajith P. Perera

Published : 9:08 am  November 2, 2018 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 

By Yohan Perera 

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya did not accept Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa as the new Prime Minister, UNP MP Ajith P.  Perera said yesterday.   

Mr. Perera therefore scoffed media reports which said Speaker had accepted the appointment and that the Premier’s Chair would be provided to Mr. Rajapaksa.   

“We can categorically say that Speaker has not accepted Mr. Rajapaksa as the Prime Minister. We have inquired from the Speaker’s office and the officials there informed that no decision had been taken to provide Premier’s Chair to Mr. Rajapaksa.   

Earlier, when asked by the Daily Mirror whether he or other UNP Seniors had spoken to the Speaker, he indicated that they had, but said he couldn’t disclose any information.   

“I can clearly say that the Speaker has not accepted Mr. Rajapaksa as the Prime Minister,” he said.