UNP appoints new electoral organisers

Published : 12:06 am  February 12, 2019 | No comments so far |  | 


 reads | 

New UNP electoral organizers with Party Leader Ranil  Wickremesinghe , General Secretary Akila Viraj Kariyawasam and Minister  Sagala Ratnayake.  
Pic by Damith Wickramasinghe 


By Yohan Perera   

The United National Party (UNP) yesterday appointed former SLFP deputy minister Lalith Dissanayake as its electoral organizer for Aranayake while former SLFPer Thilina Bandara Tennakoon was appointed as the organizer for Pahathadumbara electorate in the Kandy district.  

Mr. Dissanayake was the deputy minister of health till 2014 in the former Mahinda Rajapaksa government while Mr. Tennakoon is a nephew of UPFA MP Janaka Bandara Tennekoon.   

The other prominent appointments were that of singer Rookantha Gunatilleke as the organizer for Dambadeniya, former minister Amara Piyaseeli Ratnayake’s Manjula Bandara as the UNP organizer for Wariyapola and Udaya Wijenayake as the UNP organizer for Hiriyala in the Kurunegala district.   

Meanwhile UNP MP Dr. Kavinda Jayawardene was appointed the party’s organizer for Negombo in the Gampaha disrict.   

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe said yesterday’s appointments were part of UNP’s reorganization process. 

“We will unite all forces and make our political exercise a success. Organizers should work hard if not we will have to take action against,” he said.   

UNP General Secretary Akila Viraj Kariyawasam said the party did not have any intention of increasing the number ministers to 58. “Our effort is not to form a national government but only to establish a mechanism where all parties can work together,” he said.  Mr. Dissanayake said his intention was to form a progressive political force and Mr. Gunatilleke said he had to face difficulties as a result of getting involved in politics but he would put the past behind and work for the people.   


Pix By Damith Wickramasinghe